13-й Киберфест (CYFEST)

CYFEST-13

CYLAND Media Art Lab представляет 13-й Международный фестиваль медиаискусства «Киберфест».

Тема фестиваля: Космос и Хаос
Даты проведения: ноябрь 2021 года

О фестивале

«Киберфест» — один из крупнейших международных фестивалей в области медиаискусства в Восточной Европе, основанный группой независимых художников и кураторов в Петербурге в 2007 году. «Киберфест» объединяет представителей мира искусства, программистов, инженеров и медиа-активистов со всего мира, расширяет территорию и возможности современного искусства, переплетая его с различными направлениями науки и техники.

Фестиваль является лауреатом Премии Сергея Курёхина 2018 в номинации «Лучший фестиваль в области современного искусства».

«Киберфест» — уникальный международный проект, направленный на исследование и популяризацию медиаискусства. В 2019 году проекты фестиваля были показаны на ведущих культурных площадках Нью-Йорка, Рима, Венеции и Москвы и Санкт-Петербурга.

Петербургский «Киберфест» задействует крупнейшие городские арт-пространства, среди которых: Санкт-Петербургской государственная художественно-промышленная академия имени А.Л. Штиглица, Анненкирхе (Лютеранская церковь Святой Анны), Молодежный образовательный центр Государственного Эрмитажа и другие.

«Киберфест» включает в себя обширную выставочную, видео-, саунд- и образовательную программу.


КОСМОС и ХАОС

Концепция международного фестиваля медиаискусства КИБЕРФЕСТ-13

Греческое слово ХАОС означает «пустота», «пропасть», «бездна». Это мифическое время предшествовало эмпирическому (профанному). ХАОС — бог порождений. По представлениям древних греков, Земля, Небо, Любовь, Бездна и Мрак родились из ХАОСА. 

Под КОСМОСОМ греки понимали эстетически украшенный порядок. КОСМОС вторичен по отношению к ХАОСУ и возникает путем восполнения, прояснения его свойств. 

Тьма превращается в свет, пустота — в заполненность, аморфность — в порядок. И Платон выдвигает именно человека как прообраз КОСМОСА.

Что мы имеем в виду сегодня, обращаясь к этим философским понятиям? Не странно ли, что мы все чаще называем нашу человеческую жизнь хаотичной, а бездонную пропасть Вселенной — космосом?

Всякий стиль в искусстве стремился породить свой собственный космос — эстетическую структуру и формальное решение. Но что происходит, когда эстетическое, формальное теряет свое значение в определении, что такое искусство? Бездна рождает бездну? Что может быть рождено «пропастью» информации? Или скоро новые технологии полностью поглотят эстетическое — и наш старый космос смыслов будет совершенно неинтересен новому поколению художников?

— Елена Губанова, куратор


CYFEST is one of the largest international media art festivals, it was founded in St. Petersburg in 2007 by independent artists and curators. The festival promotes the emergence of new forms of art and high technology interactions, developing professional connections between artists, curators, engineers and programmers around the world and exposing wide audiences to the works in the field of robotics, video art, sound art and net art.

При поддержке

logoBDS40

stpetersb80

13th CYFEST

CYFEST-13

CYLAND Media Art Lab presents the 13th International Festival of Media Art CYFEST.

Festival theme: Cosmos and Chaos
Dates: First quarter of 2021

About festival

CYFEST is one of the biggest international festivals of media art in Eastern Europe, founded by a group of independent artists and curators in Saint Petersburg in 2007. CYFEST unites art professionals, programmers, engineers and media activists all over the world, expands territories and possibilities of contemporary art, intertwining it with various disciplines of science and technology.

CYFEST is an exceptional international project. In 2019, the festival projects were presented at the leading cultural institutions in New York, Rome, Venice, Moscow and St. Petersburg.

Saint Petersburg CYFEST will engage largest city’s art spaces, including Saint Petersburg Stieglitz State Academy of Art and Design, Annenkirche (Lutheran Church of Saint Ann), and the State Hermitage Youth Educational Center.

CYFEST 12 also includes a broad exhibition, video, sound and educational programs.

 

COSMOS and CHAOS

Concept of the International Media Art Festival CYFEST-13

The Greek CHAOS means “void”, “chasm”, “abyss”. This mythical time preceded the empirical (profane) one. CHAOS is a god of engendering. For ancient Greeks, Earth, Sky, Love, Abyss and Gloom were born of CHAOS.

By COSMOS, the Greeks meant an aesthetically adorned order. COSMOS has always been secondary in relation to CHAOS. It would emerge by way of replenishment and clarification of its properties.

Darkness transforms into light, void — into filling, amorphy — into order. And it was precisely the human being whom Plato proposed as a prototype of COSMOS.

What do we have in mind today by reaching out to those philosophic notions? Is it not strange that we ever more frequently refer to our human life as chaotic and to the immeasurable abyss of the Universe as Cosmos?

Every style in art has strived to give birth to its own cosmos — an aesthetic structure and a formal solution. But what is taking place when the aesthetic and formal lose their meaning in the process of determining what art is? Abyss gives birth to abyss? What could be engendered by the “immeasurableness” of information? Or soon the new technologies will completely engulf the aesthetical and our old cosmos of meanings will be of absolutely no interest to a new generation of artists?

— Elena Gubanova (Curator)



OPEN CALL